Posted by: fatbegonegirls | July 13, 2011

Just Be….

Sometime I get caught up in plans, planning, longing, and yearning for what I want to be, who I want to be, and who I know I am meant to be.  I’m a great planner.  I make lists.  I write appointments to exercise in my calendar. I buy groceries with every intent of eating right.  I sign up for races I don’t complete.  I sign up for classes I don’t finish. But somehow the best laid plans end up being nothing more than big sticks to beat myself with.

Does anyone else do that?  Am I alone?

Why isn’t it as simple as determining “this” is who I want to be/how I want to act/the best way to live my life in order to accomplish my purpose and then putting it into practice?  Why must I get mired down in all this other crap?  Do I expect more than is realistic and that is why I am thwarted? Am I just lazy?

How to move from being a planner to a doer?  Any insights?

Responses

  1. You are not alone! This sounds so familiar. Maybe you are so caught up in envisioning the long term end result that the small triumphs aren’t affirming for you? I know for me it is easy to overlook many things done right, then beat myself up for a small lapse and feel like a complete failure. It’s hard to be fair to myself and keep things in perspective.

    • Thanks Chelle!

  2. My best friend pointed this tendency out to a few months ago (I love that woman!). She told me to take my eyes off the vision board and start looking where I’m going right now. I realized that all this planning is just another avoidance tactic and it’s taken me a while, but I’m getting better at being present and “doing” the stuff.


Leave a Reply

Categories

