Posted by: fatbegonegirls | November 16, 2010

Hair Cuts and Weight Loss–They Are More Alike Than You May Think

I have been trying to grow my hair out.  I don’t necessarily want it to be really long.  I just want it to be long enough that I can consider some other styles.  I have had shortish hair, with the few odd exceptions where it got to shoulder length, since the 5th grade.  It’s time for a change!

I have very fine hair but there is a lot of it.  The last time I went in we trimmed everything and then cut/stacked the back and took a lot of the bulk out of it, leaving the bangs longer than they have been in a really long time.  About 30,000 times a day (ok, that might be a slight exaggeration) I am reminded of the fact that I’m growing my hair out when I have to push my bangs out of my eyes.  They are close to being at a point where I can tuck at least most of them behind an ear.   But, it’s uncomfortable.  It’s unpleasant.  It’s not very attractive.  And, quite frankly, it is a pain.  I don’t like it.  But I keep pushing my bangs out of my face and avoiding mirrors because I have faith that the end result will be worth it.

Losing weight is similar.  I’ve hit a roadblock of sorts the past few weeks.  It started with getting sick and missing one work out (then another, and another, etc.).  It’s been 2.5 weeks since I’ve made it to a work out in the morning and although I’ve made it to a few evening classes to make up for it, I’ve not been at all consistent.  Getting out of bed in the mornings is hard.  I have been sleeping a lot more than I usually do and I just can’t seem to get moving.  I’m tired.  It’s a pain.  At this point, the hardest thing is going back and facing everyone.  Somehow I feel a bit of shame about it and just want to stick my head in the sand and wait for it to be over.  However, like with my hair, I know that if I keep going the end result will be worth it.

So, here is my resolve for the next week.  I will:

  • Go to my morning work outs
  • Go to the evening work out whenever my schedule allows (which should be every day except Thursday—unless my 5:30 appointment tomorrow night runs long)
  • Reach my target calorie burn of 3300—every day—this will take some doing.
  • Just worry about one day at a time, one work out at a time, etc.
  • Report back here—daily (even if it’s just in the comments)

The other thing I am working on is a plan for exercise and eating right over the Thanksgiving holiday.  I’m planning to walk every day.  I’m taking my resistance bands and a couple of DVD’s home to use.  I’m hoping the Zumba DVD’s I ordered will be here in time to take them too.  I’ve already called my mom and asked her if I could assign myself to bring some healthier food choices.  I found a recipe for a yummy sounding butternut squash and apple dish with cumin and maple syrup in it that is only 105 calories per serving and I’m planning to make a ginormous green salad with lots of vegetables.  I’m going to allow myself ONE piece of Cordell’s famous pumpkin pie (it is to die for).  I’m also allowing myself one tablespoon of stuffing and a taste of mashed potatoes and gravy (but just enough to taste and know it was Thanksgiving).  I’m also taking home my blender and ingredients for one green smoothie per day.  That will keep me away from pancakes and the like for breakfast.  I’m also hoping to use some of my time at my parents to catch up on my sleep and get myself more fully rested.

Responses

  1. Okay…this is how it’s done! You go Teresa! I keep saying I am going to be more involved with this blog and I really will. I want to. I need to. Don’t give up on me! I’m coming. Really. 😀

    Your plan for the next week and the Thanksgiving holiday is a great one! I’m looking forward to hearing how it goes.

  2. Hey, your plans for the holidays sound great.
    And you know, if someone from your class had missed 2.5 weeks and then came back, I don’t think you would think anything less of them. I think they’ll be glad you’re back.


Leave a Reply

Categories

