Posted by: fatbegonegirls | November 2, 2010

Mystery

As you can see, the numbers are going up instead of down.  Why, you ask?  Well, it’s a mystery.  One that has remained unsolved for years and years…the whole time I’ve been overweight.  Here’s the pattern.  Some great weight loss opportunity comes along, meaning a group doing it together or a contest to motivate several people to lose weight.  Maybe an office challenge where everyone puts in money and the biggest loser gets the money.  Or maybe just a couple of friends saying, “Let’s support each other in our weight loss goals.”  Something like that.  I think, great!  With that accountability factor built in or a desire to win something, this will motivate me to succeed and I’ll do better than I normally would.  Well, history has been that I do worse.  Every time.  I lose the contest.  I gain weight instead of losing it.  I end up feeling worse than I did before I even tried to lose the weight.  I don’t know why this is.  Is it the pressure?  The people watching?  My own negativity and belief that I cannot succeed?  It’s a mystery.  Now is the time to solve it.  I’m done with this pattern and am going to change it.  This time it’s not a competition.  It is a support group.  It’s friends.  And our theme is about losing weight by changing the way we think.  About ourselves mostly.  So, as I continue to post these numbers week after week they may go up while I figure this out.  Whle I solve the mystery.  And that’s okay.  It’s okay only because this time I’m going to figure out what the mental or emotional block is and remove it.  Once and for all.

Responses

  1. Hang in there girl. You are right–no judgment and no competition here. Just support. We seem to be in the same place in our thinking this week. I have struggled to get up and get to my class this week because I’ve not felt well and I’m just plain tired. I wonder how often I put myself in positions where I know the struggle will be such that it will simply become something to flog myself with. hmmm.

    Anything I can do to be more supportive?

  2. You are doing a great job of being supportive! You are my greatest supporter. I am very happy to be doing this with you and Karen, even though it’s hard to tell because I’m not posting like I should. It’s all one big vat of the very same thing…not putting the most important things at the top of my list. I’m working on changing things, but the progress is slow…very slow!

    I like your insight. It’s good. You hang in there too. Is there anything I can do to be more supportive of YOU?

  3. Just pray for me. 🙂 I’ll do the same for you. We’ll get through this sister. Love ya!


Leave a Reply

Categories

