Posted by: fatbegonegirls | October 11, 2010

emotional eating…

The last week was a little rough emotionally. There were tears on more than one occasion and during these times I tend to head straight for the pizza.

I haven’t had the cheese-y goodness that is pizza in awhile. I had shunned that particular indulgence because it tends to be a slippery slope for me. For example if I have it delivered there sits an entire circle of meltie, cheesie deliciousness and boy, oh boy, will I indulge!

So even though I knew when I ordered pizza that I was heading down a dangerous dietary road–I still went there. My emotions overrode all the commen sense I had about the decision and frankly I just didn’t care. I was sad. There were tears. I was going to eat anything I wanted.

I’m not proud.

I also, in these moments, dislike with a heretofore unseen intensity the helpful comments about planning better. About how a sugar-free, fat-free chocolate pudding cup will satisfy my emotional craving. You know, the helpfulness that is ignoring the fact that I’m not fully aware and willfully making a bad choice. I make bad choices (especially when I’m sad).

Last week I made bad choices. But… I’m not an emotional wreck right now so better choices are on the horizon–bring on that sugar-free, fat-free pudding!

Tomorrow I fully expect to reap some consequences via the scale. Consider this a heads up! đŸ™‚

Responses

  1. Hopefully a small cheese pizza. It’s better than a large supreme! Sugar free pudding cups have a time and place.
    I read the worst diet ever tonight. This doctor will implant something on your tongue that makes it painful to eat. The person can only stand a liquid diet that the doctor will, of course, supply. How desperate do you have to be to do that to yourself? Of, course the person speaking spent a year with dry mouth and constipation while damaging her heart and lungs with fen-phen, so—little room to point fingers.

  2. Oh, if only it was a small little pizza. Nope, we’re talking about indulgences over the course of 7 different days involving 3 seperate establishments. fyi–Jack’s Pizza in Logan is awesome! yum.

  3. I’ve been struggling with the emotional eating a bit too, friend. It’s not an easy one. I realized the other day while searching for some peanut M&M’s to calm my hunger, that I was not in fact hungry but had just gotten off the phone from a conversation that had been particularly unpleasant. I guess being aware of it is the first step.

  4. Karen and Teresa the emotional eating is the whole crux of this matter! I know it. How to fix it is what we’re figuring out. Together. So far I’m mostly the silent partner, but I’m getting ready to let loose, so watch out! Thank you for making this emotional journey with me and for being so real about it.

  5. I am a total emotional eater. Stress? Food. Sad? Food. I have been WAY off the wagon lately, and stalled at my current weight for like 6 weeks. I need to get back on track.

    • What is it about emotions that undo our lofty goals. Throw one bad day into the mix and I feel like I’m starting at day one again. Arggg. Thankfully the track is still there, we just need to step back on!


Leave a Reply

Categories

