Posted by: fatbegonegirls | September 24, 2010

This Omnivore’s Dilemma

I’ve started reading The Omnivore’s Dilemma: A Natural History of Four Meals by Michael Pollan and thus far, I’m quite intrigued. Not being a regular reader of non-fiction, I’m surprised at how much I’m enjoying it. It could be, I suppose, because I’m interested in the subject matter but it has drawn me in.

I’m not terribly far into it yet but Pollan has mentioned several times the “national eating disorder” that our country is facing and suggests that, as a culture, we have lost touch with any wisdom we may have once had concerning food. At this point, we’ve become so far removed from the origins of our food that we’re completely confused about how to make appropriate eating choices. I mean, what exactly is a “chicken nugget” (read the book and you’ll be surprised!).

For awhile now, I’ve wanted to get back to a more natural state of eating but, it’s not easy. I am not a fan of cooking and by allowing Stouffer’s, Pizza Hut & Wendy’s to prepare my meals I’m eating a lot of things which are far from their “straight from the earth” state.

“Hello, I’ll have some corn by-products with a side of preservatives please.”

It’s not that I can’t cook. I can! But, I’m not very good at planning ahead and cooking takes a certain amount of thought, preparedness and care.

This way of eating also goes against some pretty fundamental LDS doctrinal councils I hold dear and if I truly want to live these healthy guidelines, which I do, I’ve got to give up the pre-packaged & “fast” foods. I must become re-acquainted with the produce section and begin preparing my own meals–from scratch.

This brings me to my new goal–making my own meals.

I like Teresa’s “Phase Ten” program and I’m thinking that I need to make my own ‘2 week’ goals. I had a goal to quit eating ‘fast food’ and has a moderate amount of success sticking to it. I think by readjusting this goal, I can make it into something that will serve, not only my pocketbook & waistline, but the way I think about food. It’s by changing my thoughts that I can make a lasting change to my health.

So, here is the plan. For the next two weeks I will shop at the grocery store–with a list! I’ll avoid those aisles that have the pre-packaged, frozen meals and stick to the areas that have items in a more natural state of being. I will have a plan. Then, with those ingredients, I will prepare my meals. I will pack lunches and eat my most calorie laden meals during my lunch break, saving my yogurt, fruit and string cheese for a lighter dinner. My super-aswesome thermos will be my friend and in it I will pack soups & vegetable heavy dishes. I will eat salads and drink water. I will know exactly what I am eating. This is not to say I won’t go anywhere for dinner, social eating is a big part of my lifestyle & I cannot cut it out entirely, but I will order wisely. I will make an effort to know what I’m putting in my mouth.

2 weeks. I can do this and while I do I will continue to read Pollan’s book. I will also carefully study those doctrines which are a part of my religious beliefs and that are given to keep me healthy. I’m going to make an internal change, shift my perceptions and I believe if I do this I will be more able to keep my weight-loss commitments.

I certainly can’t hurt to try!

Responses

  1. Excellent Karen! You can do it! I’ve been reading “In Defense of Food” and find it quite interesting as well.

    My most recent food related book has been “Eat to Live” by Joel Fuhrman and I think it seems quite close to what I believe I should be doing if I follow the Word of Wisdom like I should.

    Can’t wait to hear how your Phase I goes! We’ll have to share some soup recipes. YUM!

    • In Defense of Food it next on my “to read” pile (along with the 88 other books but you know…) What soup are you making this week. I just made chicken noodle with lots of carrots, celery and bok choy.

      • It will be “clean the pantry” soup. Chicken stock, and I think I have garlic, onions, carrots, celery, zucchini, cabbage, green beans, and some other stuff. Should be interesting…. 🙂

  2. Perfect! I wish you luck and will support my widh with prayers!

  3. Not my widh—my wish. If I supportted my width with prayers it would be a bad thing

    • Okay Mom, I’m holding your to this support at Thanksgiving when I want to eat too much pie!

  4. Those are great goals for a solid start! Best of luck. 🙂

    • Thanks you!

  5. If there is any advice I can give you (as I continue to try to figure it all out) is to just think whole and natural foods. When shopping stay on the outside isles. I never believed that before but pay attention next time. The healthier stuff is on the outside isles. Fruit veggies, dairy, meat. The junk and freezer stuff in in the inside isles.
    Also CONSCIOUS EATING no matter what your weight loss or fitness goals are it comes down to paying attention to what you are eating. Know how different foods effect you and your body will help guide you.
    Good luck this week!

    • The idea of eating whole/natural foods is really clicking in my brain and this book is amazing. Putting it into practice is a bit tougher as old habits are hard to break but I’m confidant I can get there. Thanks for your thoughts and advice. It’s nice to have others in your corner trying to do the same things.

  6. Go, KAREN!! (And you know, everyone else, too!) 🙂 xo

    • Thanks!


Leave a Reply

Categories

